The Joint Mathematical Council of the United Kingdom










Members' log-in

Trustees' log-in


Twitter @thejmcuk




British Congress of Mathematics Education 9

  3 – 6 April 2018  

  University of Warwick  



Officers of The Joint Mathematical Council of the United Kingdom (established 20 January 2017)

Chair:  Professor Paul Glaister  

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Reading
PO Box 220


Secretary:  Mr Peter Thomas  

Hills Road Sixth Form College
Hills Road


Treasurer:  Dr Jennie Golding  

UCL Institute of Education
20 Bedford Way


Past Officers of The Joint Mathematical Council of the United Kingdom

Past Chairs


Past Secretaries


Past Treasurers

2017  Dr Paul Harris


Officers of the unincorporated Joint Mathematical Council of the United Kingdom (dissolved 17 August 2017)


1963  Professor Sir William Hodge FRS
1965  Professor Harry R Pitt FRS
1969  Professor H Halberstam
1973  Professor S James Taylor
1975  Professor H B Griffiths
1979  Professor George G Hall
1982  Professor C A Rogers FRS
1985  Professor R L E Schwarzenberger
1988  Professor D G Crighton
1991  Professor Margaret Brown
1995  Professor J Chris Robson
1999  Professor Celia Hoyles
2003  Professor Bernard Silverman FRS
2006  Professor Rosamund Sutherland
2009  Professor Duncan Lawson
2012  Professor Tim Rowland
2015  Professor Paul Glaister


Honorary Secretaries

1963  Professor J G Semple
1968  Professor J V Armitage
1973  Mr Hugh Neill
1979  Professor David Burghes
1981  Geoff T Wain
1986  Dr D M Kerslake
1993  Ms Christine Hopkins
1995  Graham Smart
2000  Dr Sue Sanders
2006  Dr David Martin
2010  Mr Gerald Goodall
2013  Mr Peter Thomas


Honorary Treasurers

1963  Mr J T Combridge
1971  Dr J A Todd
1975  Professor J V Armitage
1977  Professor S James Taylor
1982  Professor Hugh Burkhardt
1985  Professor Philip Holgate
1988  Professor W Derek Collins
1993  Professor Derek Woodrow
1998  Ann Kitchen
2001  Professor Adrian Oldknow
2011  Dr Paul Harris


Last updated by Peter Thomas
on 26 February 2018



The Joint Mathematical Council of the United Kingdom is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales, Registered Charity Number: 1171223, Registered Office: De Morgan House, 57-58 Russell Square, London, WC1B 4HS.